5 comments on “Item Grinding Died With Diablo II

  1. I was under the impression Diablo III didn’t share the same sweeping success as Diablo II mainly because of some fundamental changes in gameplay mechanic and the battle/leveling system from Diablo 2 which weren’t popular with players, not primarily because of the gaming market or supposed outdated gameplay while I’m sure they come into play. I have no idea what the changes are, but that’s the impression I got.

    • Certainly there were issues with gameplay mechanics, but the primary concern I’ve read (and agree with) is the end game and feeling like you are not ‘progressing’. The paragon levels does add more levels to go through, but I find it weak and repetitive in a hypercompetitive gaming market. It appears to have done little to draw players (including me) back to D3.

  2. As someone who doesn’t normally play these types of game, I can’t really comment on the changes and flaws of Diablo III. However, like many popular games of today people move on. They have other games that they want to play so when they finish one game they will move to the next. It is also well known that a lot of people these days don’t really finish games. Multiplayer is what keeps players playing, so that’s why so many games have multiplayer now. However even with multiplayer, people will only keep playing until the next big multiplayer game comes out.

    • Well the longevity of most MMOs is months if not years. D2 trumped most that followed even years after its release. It is unfortunately D3’s core system made the game very fun but very short in terms of gameplay, causing players to seek new content elsewhere.

  3. Ugh, item grinding, no thank you. However, I will go through the monotony of breaking thousands of digital blocks just to find diamond so I can make an awesome Diamond shovel.

Leave a comment